Suicide

One of the hardest documentaries I have ever seen.  The graphics are hard to see and there are actually recordings that will send chills up your spine.  This documentary is based on how a suicide effects the lives of those that are left behind.  A debate that I’m sure has existed for a very long time, those a person have the right to chose whether to live or die.  Personally, I don’t condone suicide, but I also don’t believe that anyone should make the choice for you whether you want to live or not.  Granted, I fully support suicide hotlines and prevention organizations, but I don’t think that the victim should be damned and scolded for making that choice.

Everyone deals with pain differently, and some have very tragic stories and I’m sure that when someone is thinking of suicide they’re not thinking, well, I hope she’s got a good carpet cleaner for the mess I’m going to leave behind.  And that seems to be the message that the first half of the documentary talks about, how selfish these people are for running out on their lives and leaving others to clean up after themselves.

For me the documentary took on a more solid compassionate form when they introduced the psycologist who talks about the way the person who has talks of suicide is thinking and why they see no way out.  Also the compassion from the phone operator who talks about how we are very cruel to one another and how that is a big reason for the pain in many peoples lives. To me, that’s how suicide should be talked about, with compassion, not judgement or scorn for their weakness.  All in all, not a bad documentary when it comes to presentation.  I found myself wanting to know more about some of the cases and better ways of prevention rather than how these people were just selfish aholes for leaving the world and not dealing with the pain.  With suicide rates increasing, especially in children, I’d hope that we’d take a moment as a society and see how we influence this pain and find ways to heal.

Suicide rate in the 10-14 age group has increased 150% in the past 15 years

 

Leave a Reply

